Monday, June 18, 2012

And like that, the week was done...

Last week was like a vacation at home! Logan had soccer camp in the mornings, and most every afternoon/evening we had something fun to do. We had a soccer coach from the camp staying with us, and the kids just absolutely adored him. He started the week as "coach," but by the end of the week Patrick and I thought him a friend.

I won't lie. I was terrified at the thought of bringing a stranger into our home. But then I figured that they would have to do some sort of background checks on these coaches before sending them to coach children and stay with host families all summer. Turns out, I had nothing to worry about. All of the coaches involved with coaching the campers were wonderful and such fun to be around.... even though it took me until Friday to get the names and faces matched up correctly. HAHA

Monday was day 1 of camp, and we really didn't do much of anything in the evening. It was just a nice relaxing night after the coaches had spent the days before traveling.

Tuesday was a pool party for the coaches and host families. It was a little intimidating because we really didn't know any of the coaches, and I didn't know the other host families that well.

Wednesday everyone went to Stone Mountain except for us. Our family, Simon (our coach), and a couple friends met up for dinner for Logan's birthday. He turned the big 1-0! His birthday dinner was at Logan's Roadhouse, and Simon got a kick out of hollering "Yee-haw" in the restaurant when birthdays were recognized. Logan wouldn't let us do his. He's shy like that. :-)

Thursday we all met up at Atlanta Motor Speedway for Thursday Night Thunder. That was awesome! We not only got to sit around with people who we were beginning to consider friends when less than a week ago we'd been strangers, but I got to see my Connor race his car!! Connor is in the same grade as Logan, and I taught him when he was a 2nd grader. He came in 4th, which was his best finish at AMS.

Friday was "The Big Game." Every year when the coaches come for the soccer camp Mike has a big Brits vs Mike's Select Team. It's great fun to watch, even though the Brits usually kick our tails. LOL

Saturday we took a road trip into Atlanta for the Silverbacks game. We tailgated for a few hours before the game and then enjoyed an evening of soccer. It was the first soccer match I'd seen that wasn't children playing or Mike's end-of-camp games (not counting ones we watch on television). It was wonderful! They may make a true soccer mom of me yet! I'm even figuring out what off-sides means. Now that's progress!!

We are looking forward to the next British soccer camp (though, not all the coaches are British.. one of our coaches this past week was from Ireland) and hoping that we have the opportunity to host another coach or two. We had no idea what a great week it would turn out to be, and we can't wait to do it again.

The Coaches

Coaches and Campers

Simon and the Kids

The Big Game

Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Soccer Camp and Birthdays

We made it back home on Friday.. yay!!! We had a blast on vacation, and it was wonderful spending time with family.... but there's just something to be said for sleeping in your own bed.

So, here we are on day 2 of soccer camp. Logan is having a blast. He's learning new skills. He thinks his coach is "really cool."

Speaking of his coach, he's staying with us this week. He arrived on Sunday. We've thoroughly enjoyed having him here. And he's learning some great southern vocabulary. Like "hiney." As in, "Colleen, put your hiney in that chair and eat your dinner." He told me yesterday evening that he had a hard time keeping a straight face, but knew he must since I was getting on to her - but I don't think he used the phrase "getting on to." I can't remember what he said. Anyway, we've enjoyed having him here, and I know the kids are going to be sad when he moves on to the next soccer camp at the end of this week.

We've got Logan's birthday coming up tomorrow. Can't believe my baby boy is going to be 10. When the heck did that happen? (Duh, ten years ago.... right?) I still have trouble believing how fast they are both growing up. Colleen turned six last week, and I think she's going on 16. And then there is "The Big One." Patrick is going to be 40 in a few days. Can't believe everyone around me is getting old. HAHA

I'll try to snap some photos this week and share. Patrick's planning on taking the camera up to soccer camp and getting a few there, and we have outings planned all week with the other coaches and host families - not to mention Logan's party on Friday! There will be plenty of picture-taking opportunities. I just need to remember to take the pictures.

Sunday, June 3, 2012

Vacation

Gosh, I love that word.

The kids are having a blast, as are the parents. We're spending some time with hubby's parents down in sunny Florida. We've been to Disney's Hollywood Studios and Legoland. So much fun! I want to go back sometime (not necessarily anytime soon) when I'm feeling better. My knee has been hurting me, and I was just not accustomed to all that walking. I was in severe pain. We walked all over Hollywood Studios on the first day, so the second day (Legoland) I spent most of the time sitting it out and waiting on the rest of the family.

The biggest surprise was how much L & C loved the Star Tours ride. I'd love to have a video of C on it. It was absolutely hysterical - nothing I can really write here because it just wouldn't be funny. But trust me when I say, her response was priceless. L loved it too, and talked about it all day - he wanted to ride it as many times as he could to see if he could get all 50 (or more?) of the missions. We did it twice. I don't think the adults could have handled it more than that in one day.

So, now we are just chilling out with the family.. probably going to do some bike rides and hit the beach a few times. We're basically just going to enjoy the time with hubby's parents until it's time to go home.

See ya in a few months. (We'll be going home before then, just not sure I'll blog again before then. LOL)